Deleted data by mistake? Our backup options
There are two actions that are particularly risky: deleting all Helpers or deleting all Events.
Ideally, you will never need to use a backup. To get straight to the point: restoring a backup is possible, but it takes time and therefore incurs costs. That is why it is important to know which actions are particularly risky.
Risky actions
There are two buttons that can cause significant damage, but which are still needed from time to time.
Delete all Helpers
If you delete all Helpers, you need to be aware that you will also delete all Tasks they have signed up for. Doing this in the middle of the season or before a major Event can be a real disaster, especially because all those sign-ups will be deleted. You will no longer know who signed up for which Event. The "Delete all Helpers" button therefore only makes sense if you want to restore the system to its original state after the end of a season or your event. In any case, we strongly recommend that you save all reports first.
To put your mind at ease, when you click the "Delete all Helpers" button, a prominent warning message appears first. It asks whether you really want to delete ALL Helpers. So there is no need to worry about accidentally clicking this button.
Delete all Events / Delete Events up to
If you delete all Events, not only the Events and Shifts but also all Tasks will be deleted. Once the Events have been deleted, you will no longer know who signed up for them or how much each person helped.
This button can be useful at the end of a season. You can also delete Events using the alternative command "Delete Events up to", which lets you specify a date. Only Events up to that date will be deleted. If you select "Reset past Events", Helpers will simply be removed from all past Events. This is a useful option if you want to keep the Events as templates for copying but no longer want these Tasks to count towards your Helpers’ totals.
In any case, we recommend that you back up your data via the reports before deleting anything.
Reset past Events
The "Reset past Events" action also carries some risk. It removes Helpers from all past Events. If you still need these Tasks for your statistics, you should not use this option!
Our backup options
Our system-wide backups generally go back one month. We cannot guarantee the recovery of data that is older than one month. In principle, it is therefore possible to restore all data from the last month. Unfortunately, in practice, it is not quite that simple.
- We back up the system for all customers. This means we cannot restore a backup specifically at an individual customer’s request. We first have to create an individual backup for you from the general backup.
- You have deleted data that you did not intend to delete. New data may be created between the time of deletion and the restoration of the backup, and this data could then be overwritten by the backup. For example, you delete all Helpers. New Helpers then register and take on Tasks. However, these new Tasks are not included in our backup. The new Helpers and their Task sign-ups would therefore be overwritten when the backup is restored.
What to do in an emergency
- Immediately set a new password for the Helper section that nobody else knows. This will prevent Helpers from accessing the platform and stop them from taking on Tasks that would be removed again when the backup is restored.
- Inform everyone who has access to the administration area that they must not make any changes to the system.
- Contact us. It is best to call us.
- We will create the backup and contact you again.
- Check the data in the system, then remove the password again or restore the previous password so that your Helpers can log in again.
- Inform all administrators that they can resume their work.
Alternative
If you have deleted Events or Tasks that you still need, the "Log entries" report can often help. It lets you see who deleted what and when, as well as what happened to the now-deleted Events and Tasks up until the time they were deleted.
Important: Restoring an individual backup requires around two hours of manual work. We reserve the right to charge you for this work.